Crowe & Dunlevy attorney honored by Oklahoma Bar Association

Karen S. Rieger receives Mona Salyer Lambird Spotlight Award

The Oklahoma Bar Association (OBA) recently selected Crowe & Dunlevy attorney Karen S. Rieger as one of five recipients of the 2015 Mona Salyer Lambird Spotlight Award. The award is given annually to five women who have distinguished themselves in the legal profession and who have lighted the way for other women. Crowe & Dunlevy attorneys Judy Hamilton Morse and Brooke S. Murphy are past recipients of the award.

“We are honored the OBA has selected Karen to join the list of distinguished women attorneys alongside Judy, Brooke and many others,” said Kevin D. Gordon, president and CEO of the firm. “As a leader in the Oklahoma legal community, we are proud of our firm’s record of hiring extremely talented female lawyers who are industry and community leaders, successful advocates and counselors.”

Rieger is recognized by her clients and peers throughout Oklahoma as an authority on healthcare legal issues and issues affecting nonprofit corporations. She serves as the chair of the firm’s Healthcare practice group and represents healthcare institutions and practitioners throughout Oklahoma and surrounding states on a broad range of health law issues including: the Affordable Care Act, Anti-Kickback and Stark laws, HIPAA privacy and security requirements, laws affecting tax-exempt and governmental healthcare providers, Medicare reimbursement rules, medical staff issues and others. She has been involved in structuring numerous acquisitions, joint ventures and contracts involving healthcare providers.

She is chair of the OBA Health Law Section, serves as an Oklahoma Health Lawyers Association director and is an active member of the American Health Lawyers Association. Rieger is an associate bar examiner for the OBA and is a member of the American Bar Association's Health Law and Business Association sections. She has also served as a University of Oklahoma College of Law adjunct professor of healthcare law.

Rieger has served on a number of civic and charitable boards over the years and currently serves as chairman of the Oklahoma Cerebral Palsy Commission, which operates the J.D. McCarty Center for children with developmental disabilities, and is a director and past president of the Catholic Foundation of Oklahoma. She is a member of Leadership Oklahoma Class XXII and serves on the board of Canterbury Choral Society.

The Mona Salyer Lambird Spotlight Award is named in honor of 1996 OBA President Mona Salyer Lambird, who died in 1999, and as the first woman to serve as OBA president, was one of the award’s first recipients. The award is sponsored by the OBA Women in Law Committee. Each year, all previous winners nominate and select the current year’s recipients. A plaque bearing the names of all recipients hangs at the Oklahoma Bar Center in Oklahoma City.

Copyright © 2018 Crowe & Dunlevy. All Rights Reserved.