Healthcare Advisory August 2010 - Part 2 of 2

Healthcare August Client Advisory

Standards/Certification Criteria:

The final certification rule sets initial standards, implementation specifications, and certification criteria for electronic health record technology under the incentive program. The final rule also serves the following two purposes:

1. Coordinates the standards required of electronic health record systems with the meaningful use requirements for eligible professionals and hospitals; and

2. Assures providers that the certified electronic health record technology they adopt is capable of performing the required functions to comply with CMS’ meaningful use requirements and other administrative requirements of the Medicare and Medicaid electronic health record incentive programs.

The final certification requirements regulation is 228 pages. Throughout the final rule, the Office of National Coordinator ("ONC") has included a table at the beginning of the discussion of each certification criterion to illustrate the final meaningful use Stage 1 objectives for eligible professionals and eligible hospitals and to show how the final certification standards adopted by ONC have been revised in response to the revised meaningful use objectives and measures and public comments.

If you have any questions regarding the Certification Standards addressed in this Client Advisory, please contact:
Karen S. Rieger at (405) 235-7788,

This memorandum is provided by Crowe & Dunlevy for educational and informational purposes only and is not intended and should not be construed as legal advice.

Copyright © 2018 Crowe & Dunlevy. All Rights Reserved.