Crowe & Dunlevy Announces Annual Diversity Scholars Program Recipients

Diversity scholarships support legal education

OKLAHOMA CITY – Crowe & Dunlevy has named four law students as scholarship recipients of the firm’s Diversity Scholars Program.

The recipients of the 2020 scholarships include Laura Martinez and Christopher Punto from the University of Oklahoma College of Law, Brandon Keaton from the University of Tulsa College of Law and Maria Escobar from Oklahoma City University School of Law.

The scholarship is awarded annually to outstanding law students based on academic achievement, financial need and commitment to the law. Recipients can receive up to $10,000 during their law school tenure based on satisfactory progress and performance. Since the firm’s Diversity Scholars Program was established, more than $250,000 in scholarships have been awarded to exemplary students to help enhance diversity within the legal profession.

Martinez graduated from the University of Oklahoma with degrees in business administration and International and Area Studies. She ranks in the top 20 percent of her law school class and placed third in the 2019 Whitten Burrage Negotiation Competition.

Punto earned his undergraduate degree from Northwestern Oklahoma State University and a master’s degree from Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences. Punto is also a recipient of the American Jurisprudence Award and ranks in the top 25 percent of his law school class.

Keaton is a graduate of the University of Arkansas – Fort Smith with a degree in business administration. He serves as the social chair for the Black Law Student Association and ranks in the top 19 percent of his law school class.

Escobar graduated from Oklahoma State University with degrees in economics and political science. She served as president of the League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC) at OSU from 2018 to 2019 and is now a member of the Hispanic Law Student Association.